infinity plus

Fish Eats Lion by Jason Erik Lundberg (editor)

Fish Eats Lion
Fish Eats Lion

Fish Eats Lion collects the best original speculative fiction from Singapore - fantasy, science fiction, and the places in between - all anchored with imaginative methods to the Lion City. These twenty-two stories, from emerging writers publishing their first work to winners of the Singapore Literature Prize and the Cultural Medallion, explore the fundamental singularity of the island nation in a refreshing variety of voices and perspectives. This anthology is a celebration of the vibrant creative power underlying Singapore's inventive prose stylists, where what is considered normal and what is strange are blended in fantastic new ways.

[Note: This edition does not include Stephanie Ye's "The Story of the Kiss", only available in a now out-of-print earlier edition.]

Published: 12 Jun 2014

"Lundberg combines accessibility with a uniquely Singaporean flavor in his selections. SF readers looking to expand their horizons will enjoy visiting new worlds from an unaccustomed point of view." - Publishers Weekly

"I doubt I'll read a more engaging collection this year. [...] There's a rich optimism to be found here that speaks of lesser-known spec-fic writers rising to a challenge, and that challenge being more than adequately met." - Pete Young, Big Sky

"Entertaining in this post-colonial era, it hints at how storytellers can become mythmakers, with the power to change the world." - Akshita Nanda, The Straits Times

Jason Erik Lundberg

Jason Erik Lundberg is the author of several books of the fantastic–including Strange Mammals (2013), The Alchemy of Happiness (2012), Red Dot Irreal (2011), and The Time Traveler's Son (2008)–as well as the Bo Bo and Cha Cha children's picture book series and more than a hundred short stories, articles, and book reviews. He is also the founding editor of LONTAR: The Journal of Southeast Asian Speculative Fiction, series editor for Best New Singaporean Short Stories, editor of Fish Eats Lion (2012), and co-editor of A Field Guide to Surreal Botany (2008) and Scattered, Covered, Smothered (2004). A graduate of the prestigious Clarion Writers Workshop, Lundberg holds a degree in creative writing from North Carolina State University and currently lives in Singapore.

more infinity plus books by Jason Erik Lundberg:

Strange Mammals Red Dot Irreal The Alchemy of Happiness

the infinity plus shuffle:

Penumbra The Iron Wire Microcosms: Forty-Two stories Liberty Spin: tales of scientifiction Circus of the Grand Design The Girl with No Soul (The Factory Girl Trilogy #3) Expatria: the box set Head Shots The Angels of Life and Death Smoke Paper Mirrors: a short saga for our times