infinity plus

Strange Mammals by Jason Erik Lundberg

Strange Mammals
Strange Mammals

"Jason Erik Lundberg's stories, launched from the real world on a trajectory to the surreal, fuse the idle daydream with the desperate heart. You should read them."
John Kessel, author of The Baum Plan for Financial Independence and Other Stories

Strange superheroes and the magic of the quotidian; stories of piercing darkness and quirky, surreal humor; writing from the heart and soul; phantasmagorical journeys into what it means to be human.

Strange Mammals collects together stylish and elegant short fiction that knows no boundaries. Stories that are by turns fantastical, realist and strange, but which always move and surprise.

A breathtaking collection from an author whose writing "explores the randomness of magical occurrences" (Green Man Review) and "teems with imagination, location, originality, and fine writing" (Jeffrey Ford).

Cover by Keith Brooke and L Da Vinci

Published: 01 Oct 2013

"Jason Erik Lundberg's third collection, Strange Mammals, gathers 25 short stories in which literary naturalism gives way to the surreal, the absurd and the magical... Lundberg has the enviable talent of achieving emotionally resonant effects within just a few pages." The Guardian

Jason Erik Lundberg

Jason Erik Lundberg is the author of several books of the fantastic–including Strange Mammals (2013), The Alchemy of Happiness (2012), Red Dot Irreal (2011), and The Time Traveler's Son (2008)–as well as the Bo Bo and Cha Cha children's picture book series and more than a hundred short stories, articles, and book reviews. He is also the founding editor of LONTAR: The Journal of Southeast Asian Speculative Fiction, series editor for Best New Singaporean Short Stories, editor of Fish Eats Lion (2012), and co-editor of A Field Guide to Surreal Botany (2008) and Scattered, Covered, Smothered (2004). A graduate of the prestigious Clarion Writers Workshop, Lundberg holds a degree in creative writing from North Carolina State University and currently lives in Singapore.

more infinity plus books by Jason Erik Lundberg:

Fish Eats Lion Red Dot Irreal The Alchemy of Happiness

the infinity plus shuffle:

The Alchemy of Happiness Tommy Catkins infinity plus: quintet Penumbra The Love Machine & other contraptions The Sometimes Spurious Travels Through Time and Space of James Ovit Fish Eats Lion One More Unfortunate Nocturnes and Other Nocturnes Midway